If we were having coffee 8 Nov 2016

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I missed calling you over yesterday. Not because it skipped my mind, but because my hands were tied. Maid issues! Ha! You would be now keeping your hand over your forehead and thinking why you’ve decided to come over today. But I was totally freaking out at what a mess my home has been in, since the last one week. Thus, it was more or less like a Diwali cleaning that happened yesterday. And guess what? When P came back from work, he was spellbound! New carpets were laid out, potpourris arranged, dining area  spotless, the garden cleaned out, old leaves and debris raked up, tulsi pot washed and cleaned and furniture dusted and set in order. Oh, I felt so proud of myself. But then he gasped,”Who came here? Did you get a new maid?” Well.. he loves to see his home spick and span. Whereas, I can still live in it when things are a little messy. No wonder he was in a shock for sometime.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am participating in the National Blog Posting Month or #NaBloPoMo with my food blog and I am loving it. I thought I would get cold feet within a week because it is clearly not easy to select recipes, cook them, click pictures, edit and finally draft and publish a post. Except yesterday though, I could manage to post right at 12 am so that I had the complete day for planning the next day’s recipe instead of stressing out. I could read close to 30 blogs everyday at different times during the day and Whoa! It was an absolute delight to hop over few posts. There are thousands participating in the challenge and it is an impossible task to visit each of them. But now, I do have my favorites figured out and I visit them every single day along with some new ones. I took up the challenge mainly because my blog was a little blue last month since my complete effort went about doing the UBC/Daily Chatter challenge here. Anyway, you should definitely take a look and find out what I am cooking everyday in my kitchen. Wouldn’t you?

P’s friend came over for dinner on Thursday. He was so fond of South Indian food that his only demand was that I prepare Dosa and Sambar. But as I said last time, the winter here is already so brutal that the batter just does not ferment anymore. I hence decided to make Appams and Chicken Stew. Of course, I was skeptical. But somehow the appam batter came out alright and the officer loved it. I told you! I make good stews. So, the next time we meet, I will bring you some hot stew. Oh, and I send some to my neighbor too. Needless to say, she and her kids liked it.

appam-kerala-breakfast

If we were having coffee I would tell you that the lady was so kind to send over our Sunday brunch. Ha! She made some hot and crispy Masala dosas and Coconut chutney. It was top-notch restaurant quality and I did ask for the tips to prepare some by own. But the first question I asked her was how on earth she managed to ferment that batter! Apparently, she kept it out in the sun during those few hours of sunlight we get and later wrapped in thick clothes and kept near the heater. So much for having dosas! Yup. We love them.

P and I decided to visit the family who stays in the ground floor after brunch. They have got two adorable kids and I am head over heels in love with them. The little girl is naughty and apparently, even before I joined P in this station, they have scared the girl saying ‘a Police aunty’ would be coming here soon and that she should start behaving or else I would put her behind the bars. Gosh! I was embarrassed beyond words because I am sure, if you meet me once you can never associate me with a Police aunty. Yup. I am sweet that way. Well, our chit-chats went on for about four hours that eventually we had to have lunch with them. It was now P’s turn to be embarrassed because all we had to do was climb the stairs to reach our home to have lunch. He was a little annoyed with me as I was prolonging the chat for long. Well, once in a while, it’s okay, right? Please back me up here.

If we were having coffee, I would also tell you that we already had a planned dinner and thus I didn’t have to cook anything in my kitchen on Sunday. Gee! 😀

How did your week go by? Let me know!

Until next week,

Ciao.

Shalini.

If we were having coffee

 

Comments

  1. Love chicken !!!!

    Like

  2. Having tea..last week was bad super hectic and down with cough..:(

    Like

  3. nice post…liked the ‘police aunty’ part too! cheers

    Like

  4. This is lovely . n chicken looks yummy. :)😊keep up the good work

    Like

  5. And If I am having coffee; I would recommend the whole series of posts to be read; when you want to lighten your mood :))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I liked masala dosa and coconut chutney but not coffee.
    Awesome writeup.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. No coffee to me, but if you like it… I like South Indian food and the reason is secret !
    Great post !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tina Basu says:

    ohh ask me that, i am always at the receiving end!! I’ll join you for coffee and get some cookies too from my oven!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Uh -oh… maid issues. It is one issue that binds the family together. 😛 And those lovely appams and dosas.. mouthwatering just by looking at the pic. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lata Sunil says:

    I like the way the lady fermented the dosa batter. I know it is quite a pain when it is not rightly fermented. Loving your recipes on the other blog. It is also my go to site for many recipes. It is simple enough for cooking challenged me.
    I have another query. Do you make the images to go with the blog for the websites? They are absolutely spot on and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whoa! That’s so kind of you to say. I’m so glad you find my recipes easy to make. I click and do the basic edits like highlights and contrasts. I do not know the ABCs of Photoshop. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I would have loved the sambhar and dosa toooo…

    You done a lot in the week.. my house is still looking like a tip after the builders left.. I am.cleaning slowly. .

    And the 30 day challenge it’s giving me a nightmare already….I have missed.. 😀😀😀

    Like

Loved what you read? Pour in your thoughts, please. :)