Dad, You’re my Life, My Everything..

Shalu, Mamma is diagnosed with a minor tumor. Nothing to worry, Molu (dear). The doctor said it can be easily removed. So, we are planning to admit her in hospital today itself for surgery early in the morning tomorrow. I will call you back soon.” Dad hung up.

It started there. What seemed to be a dry cough had suddenly turned to be a monstrous Cancer. Yes, the surgery wasn’t minor – the doctors were taken back when they cut open her chest. The cancer had spread to all her vital organs – lungs, heart and diaphragm. The doctors knew that there was nothing left to do and they had to close her back. None of these happenings were informed to us- girls! It was in the month of December, I was in Grade 12 and taking up my Model Exams. Obviously, no one expected me to know! I remember Dad being called to the hospital by 5 am the next day. I was informed that she needed some medicines, when she indeed was dying. She had taken his hands to say how much she loved him and requesting him to take care of their two little girls. She had given up. She could hear her heartbeats beating down from 72 to 4..3..2..1..and Zero! That was it, the end. She saw the smiling face of my Dad, followed by the image of Lord Vishnu raising his hands to bless her. She felt a current pass through her and her heart again started beating from zero, back to normal. She was back to Life! Though she was in life supporting system, she started breathing on her own and was moved back home the next week. Remember, the cancer wasn’t gone!

Just like my sister and I, my Mom never knew that her condition was beyond recoverable. My Dad never informed us. He took everything upon his shoulders, going through the pain all alone. What followed next were the life-sucking Chemotherapy sessions and poisonous radiations being injected to her body. She had given up countless times. The excruciating pain, and the hairless head made her scream many a times. She didn’t want to look in the mirror anymore. But I could see a patient and calm Dad who always believed in the good, in the best. A loving husband that he is, Mom was fed with different kinds of fruit juices, soups and food every half an hour- the entire diet being prepared by my Dad. He was determined to make her fine, a caring and dedicated life-partner! He is a fighter who loves challenges and who stands for truth and justice always!

While Mom was recovering slowly but steadily, I was screwing up my Board exams. From someone who was considered to be one of the toppers in school, I went down to the lowest possible grades. Though he was extremely sad, he stood by me, encouraging me to be focused, competitive and hard-working. He always said, “When the going gets tough, the tough get going!!”. Today, I am proud to be what I am- with high grades in my Masters and a brilliant career which I’ve stepped in! I owe it to him- #MyRoleModelthe Man in my lifeMy Dad!

Just like most of the girls, I’m my Daddy’s little princess. That doesn’t mean that I was showered with kisses and hugs all the time. He is my Father and he embraced that fact. He wasn’t a best friend- but he was always there whenever my heart was broken and whenever I needed him. He was always happy and excited telling stories, getting me dolls or persuading me to watch the News channels with him. He always ballyhooed my Dance performances, as if I was the best in the world. He has set rules for both of us (my sister and I) based on firmness and fairness.

He has taught me to be Bold, Brave and Beautiful! No, no… I’m not exaggerating!  He screams the hell out of me when I put on weight. He is health-conscious and his day starts at 4.30 am with a jog/walk along with his doggie followed by yoga and exercises. He loves gardening, and our garden blooms with flowers all the time. He also has a small area in the garden where he tends on different vegetables and fruits. He cooks so well that the mere thought of his “Chicken Curry” makes me drool over and over again.

He is a doting son and a loving brother. To him, family comes first! He has always been approached by friends and family in times of crisis because of his knack of positiveness, wisdom and selflessness. He was my History teacher at school and I always attended his classes in awe. He gave his lectures gracefully without even a book in hand. He remembered the exact dates of all the three battles of Panipat, or the hierarchy of Mughals in India or about the Harappan culture. You name it, and he gives you the details in seconds. He also served in the Indian Army close to ten years and that made him Punctual, Strict, Stubborn, Firm and Tough but also Thoughtful, Insightful, Dynamic and Inspiring.

I remember sitting behind his Army jeep and all the junior officers/soldiers saluting him. A ten year old I was then, I told him, “Dad, I want to get married only to an Army Officer like you”. He had remembered my words and helped me choose my life partner- an Army Officer who is in countless ways, just like him!!

Dad, I am blessed to be your daughter and I pray to God to give me a chance to be your little girl in all my births. You taught me how to keep loving through the good and the bad to be respectful and responsible in life. You hardly kissed or hugged me. But your pat on my back makes me realize that I’m loved, cherished and appreciated in a great deal.

Dad, You’re my Life, My Everything…Love you!!

IMG_5212Dad I on my Wedding Day

I am writing about #MyRoleModel as a part of the activity by Gillette India in association with BlogAdda.com.

Comments

  1. Goosebumps….awesome… I believe a writer is at its best when he/she portray the emotions he/she underwent. The description was too good. Hat off to your dad. You are lucky to have him…and he is lucky to have a daughter like…who totally understands his sacrifices 🙂

    Like

  2. Wiping my tears, Shalini.
    Very nicely expressed. Your Dad will be so touched to read this.
    We are so lucky to be blessed by such amazing dads- our role-models.
    Best wishes 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks a lot, Anita…and I agree with you. But my dad hasn’t seen the post yet! May be I’ll ask him to read it tomorrow.. Father’s day special!! 🙂

      Like

  3. Anju Rachel says:

    Awwww Shalss… Such an inspiring one.. :)..Lovely….Indeed your Dad is brave to handle such situation alone…. Miss u gal !!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. What a lovely tribute to your dad. I miss mine so much. Lovely picture of you and your dad. thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. You have an amazing father! May God bless him!

    Like

  6. Aww! This post is beautiful, Shalz! I could feel you! Your dad is really indeed a role model! Cheers to your dad! 🙂

    Like

  7. This was beautiful and so nice of you to share these intimate moments with us. My mom died when I was 18, 3 months after I married. Your post made me cry and it was done with so much warmth.
    Carol @ Battered Hope

    Like

  8. this is so beautiful … your dad is an inspiration,the way he took care of your mom and you,it’s heartwarming.Kudos to him.And I loved that picture 🙂

    Like

  9. Sharika says:

    :)….

    Like

  10. U made me cry sis……. :(…… Luv u all………… 🙂 ❤

    Like

  11. This brought a tear to my eye, Shalini. I hope your Dad reads this. God bless him and continue to bless your family through him.
    PS: I didn’t realize there was an Army connection. My Dad served in the Army too! 🙂

    Like

  12. A beautiful picture perfectly compliments the little tribute to your relationship with your Dad. The whole write up moved me to tears. I am still wiping my tears! Lovely is all I can say.

    Like

  13. Shalz..I have read so many of your posts, but none of those have touched me the way this one did….can’t tell you how good this is….loved it…..let your family be together and happy for ever..*touch wood*

    Like

  14. Bikramjit says:

    You know its always good to read a article on fathers because there are not many posts written on Dad’s ..
    I got emotional reading this as reminded me of my dad ..
    God bless
    Bikram

    Like

  15. Very touching and heartwarming…

    Like

  16. This brought tears to my eyes..ur very blessed 😘and youre looking really gorgeous on ur wedding day 🙂

    Like

  17. Hugsssssssss, Shalzz….
    I know how much this would’ve hurt you – just thinking about those days would’ve broken your heart again and again…..
    so proud of you, for having spoken out about this 🙂
    And thanks for sharing this with us all. Such pages from life tell us how blessed we are !
    Your dad looks every inch a strict person with a soft heart.
    Like the pic of your mom kissing u on your wedding, this pic with dad is also heartwarming.
    Your mom is blessed ! To have such a husband, and such loving daughters 🙂

    Like

  18. Wow! I miss my dad so much now 😦

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] me my Mom back from the verge of that dreadful C. And I still believe that if it wasn’t for my Dad’s love we wouldn’t have survived it as a family. And all while long, you held my hand and allowed me […]

    Like

  2. […] Daddy’s little princess. He has always been an inspiration, a guiding soul in my life. When Ma was diagnosed with cancer and a worse one at that, he took everything on his shoulders. And when I went through the worst […]

    Like

  3. […] soon. She is weak from all the life-sucking chemotherapy and radiations sessions. But be strong and be there for your Dad as well. He is going through the worst phase in his […]

    Like

  4. […] is one’s life. I have been there, seeing her life being sucked out of her by cancer. I have written about it in detail before, when I felt I was ready. It was a disturbing moment when I poured my heart out and tears streamed […]

    Like

  5. […] Dad, you’re my everything!! and till time stops still, I’ll be your lil’ girl!!! I haven’t forgotten you Mom. 🙂 You’re simply the best!  […]

    Like

  6. […] Dad, You’re my Life, My Everything […]

    Like

Loved what you read? Pour in your thoughts, please. :)