If we were having coffee – 31 Oct 2016 #MondayCoffeeShare

If we were having coffee, I would pull up a chair for you out on the little balcony that overlooks our neighbor’s backyard where peacocks graze all through the evening. It’s winter already and may be we’ll not be able to enjoy the leisure of sipping coffee outdoors anymore- for it’s freezing cold. Am I exaggerating? Well, may be a little. But this is my first time in the northern part of India and I am indeed feeling the cold. The sweater has become an integral part of my clothing since today evening. My friend has fallen sick badly even after putting up a heater in her bedroom and living room. But this is my favorite season of the year and I’m loving it.

While I was finding it difficult to pass time, the doorbell rang and I got a courier. It was a beautiful Fushcia pink Rangroute Journal from Blogchatter, for having been able to successfully complete the #MyFriendAlexa Campaign with them. I also penned down a poem, soon after receiving it.

img_20161024_152556.jpg

Husband is held up with work and exams are around the corner. That just means I’m sulking again. It is hard, very hard at times; but it hasn’t swamped me yet. So, I go about with my blogging and cooking and other daily chores while he is on the move with his books. Some days, Coffee was my inspiration.

While on the other days, I was happy to cook some traditional Kerala food and see him happy. So, on Thursday he called up by 1.15 in the afternoon to say that he would be home in 30 minutes for lunch. Well, that is not a thing of bewilderment in a normal household. But for me, it is. He usually comes by 2.30 or 3 pm and hence it is only by 1.30 I start preparing lunch. Now, this call turned my panic mode on. But guess what! This creamy coconutty fish curry and rice was all that was enough to win his heart and a kiss or two, of course 🙂

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my husband called up at 7 in the evening the very same day and said, “Be ready in 45. I’m taking you out for dinner.” Despite the astonishment, my face instantly lighted up. Not because it is an unexpected date. But because he gave me 45 minutes, unlike his usual ten. Don’t take me wrong. He is bad with surprises. And a surprise date isn’t present in his dictionary. At All. The ten minutes I told you about is when he announces like a champ, “There is a dinner tonight with my senior officers. We got to be there in another ten. Oh yes. Formal wear. You should be in a saree”- that is just a regular thing in our home.

If we were having coffee, I would say that I won the #ChotteKadam activity by Blogadda for my post, Dil Se. Thanks for all the love you bestow upon Mira and Arjun.

wp-1477926986028.jpeg

Then came Diwali. We always fight on Diwali. This year too, it was no different. However, by evening we lit diyas together and tried to put up a rangoli. I was happy to find the Bazaar with Indian products and I also spotted an old man returning Chinese lamp. So, the market was deprived of the usual lights and lanterns. And we bought only a pair to decorate our hallway. We were invited to a friend’s place and we had a gala time there with their little daughter. She was excited to burst crackers and we made sure that it was only few sparklers and flower pots that we lit to make it noise and pollution free. We had dinner together and the chitchats were on till wee hours in the night.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am three posts short of the Ultra Blogging Challenge which I took up this month. I could’ve backdated few posts or wrote some short poem or stories with ease. But, it’s okay, right? I consider myself a winner. What do you think? Did I do good?

And today, I decided to enroll my food blog for another monthly blogging challenge-  NaBloPoMo. I know it is crazy and fingers crossed, I hope I can keep up.

Something'sCooking NaBloPoMo

But then, today of all days, my blog ran into a problem and I saw myself crying till it was resolved. I do not know the ABC’s of self-hosting but I took the splurge. I’m slowly learning the knickknacks. All thanks to Amrita, Corinne and Tina, I was able to calm down and at least try something to resolve the issue. Who said online friendships aren’t true? Look at them! They were ready to keep aside all their priorities and help me out. What worked? Don’t ask me! It was like magic after we tried a few tricks. The issue was resolved in a couple of hours. Phew!

So, will you join me on my Food blog starting tomorrow, to enjoy delicious food all through November? I hope you do.

How did you celebrate Diwali? I’m all ears.

Until next week,

Ciao.

#MONDAYCOFFEESHARE

This post is for Day 31 of UBC and Daily Chatter. Also linking to #MondayMusings @CorinneBlogs.

Comments

  1. this time diwali was a quiter but soulful Diwali with pottery diyas and great food. Congratulations on completing UBC on a high!

    Like

  2. upasna1987 says:

    I have enjoyed this lovely chit chat Shalini.Though little late. Diwali was fun with Office rangoli and dance party. You are lucky to have surprise dates.Wink wink

    Like

  3. A lovely coffee conversation about Diwali, life and UBC. I also finished late, posted my last yesterday which is ok I believe. I wanna sit on your balcony terrace…hehe Congrats:)

    Like

  4. This is such a good post. I really have to the coffee post! Although I’m a chai person

    Like

  5. I can so understand ur situation 😉 As these faujiz move up the ladder they become glaringly invisible at home! So cherish these moments like precious…. HUGS!

    Like

  6. love this coffee sessions…
    great month and wish you good luck ahead

    Like

  7. Congrtas Shalini for winning saffola campaign..love reading your posts and this one too made me smile.

    Like

  8. So many things to share on the Coffee Meeting.
    Interesting to hear so many events from your personal life. My wife’s life resembles with you as I am in the hospital most of the time, so she always cooks something in the house and even learn new things from youtube.

    Like

  9. You have so many things to share! Gosh! You and my wife would become an ideal partners in crime, talking all day long… BTW.. your post reminded me of that surprise dinner that I need to plan ASAP. 🙂 And congrats on winning the chote kadam activity, good luck for NaBloPoMo. 🙂

    Like

  10. pratikshya2 says:

    I have become a regular at your weekly coffee share.. love the way you chat here.. 🙂 Congrats for the win..!! And that journal looks lovely.. would surely read your recipes posts this November..

    I celebrated Diwali with flowers, lamps, diyas, and sweets.. 😀

    Like

  11. very interesting post…..this coffee chit-chat! very well writen

    Like

  12. I always enjoy reading these Chats over Coffee, Shalini. Enjoy the northern winters, but bundle up well. That Fish Curry looks delish! Smiling at the romantic dinner and the generous 45 minute notice!:))

    Like

  13. Whenever I read this,I am having a feeling that I am watching Koffee with Karan.Interesting coffee Shalini!

    Like

  14. I love these coffee chit chats.Thank God you were able to make your site alive again.I am going mad too, this November with NaBloPoMo and some more stuff which might make me certifiable.Friendships online and offline just have a way of working out.Glad to be friends.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] is an inspiration from Shalini and […]

    Like

Loved what you read? Pour in your thoughts, please. :)