UBC Day 10- iSmile #10- Palak Paneer

I’m happy that I tried out this new recipe- Palak Paneer. Well, it’s new to me, if not for you. Hailing from the South, I’ve never had the “Palak” variety of Spinach and hence, seeing this in abundance now, made me clueless on how to cook. Then came Mr.Sanjeev Kapoor to my rescue 🙂 I was am in high spirits after watching Argentina’s spectacular win in the Semis. I was in bed by 4.30am after the match, and I couldn’t sleep- Thanks to my hubby who bestowed the Football Fever in me- I was super-excited! Though I woke up very very late, I was leaning on to try out a new recipe and out came Palak Paneer- Paneer in Spinach gravy.

20140710_124117
Ingredients:

Palak/Indian spinach-1 bunch, Onion- 1 chopped,Paneer cubes 150gms, Tomato- 2 small, Green chillies 4, Turmeric- a pinch, Coriander powder- 1 tsp, Kasoori methi- a pinch, Milk 1/4 cup, Garam Masala powdder- 1tsp, Oil- 2tbsp, Salt as needed

Method:

Remove the stems and wash spinach thoroughly in running water. Blanch in salted boiling water for two minutes. Refresh in chilled water.

Squeeze out excess water. Grind into a fine paste along with green chillies. Cut the paneer into one inch by one inch by half inch pieces.

Heat oil in pan and saute onions till golden brown. Add turmeric and coriander powder and stir in low flame. Add tomatoes and katuori methi.

Cook for sometime and when tomatoes turn mushy,add the ground palak paste. Cook in low flame for a couple of minutes till oil separates. You can also add water to the gravy to meet your consistency.

Add the paneer cubes and cook covered for five minutes.

Add milk and mix carefully and bring to boil.

Add the powdered garam masala and mix well. Serve hot with Rotis. 🙂

And guess how much we loved the dish???? Thisssssssss much!Cute smileys hug

Comments

  1. This is a favorite at my place! 🙂

    Like

  2. My favourite one and I am also very happy that Argentina in now in final. 🙂

    Like

  3. One of my fav Veggie…. Sure will try this out… 🙂

    Like

  4. Time I give it a try too! Not a fan of palak but worth a try 🙂 Here’s hoping that mine turns out at the least similar to picture. It looks delicious 🙂

    Like

  5. Yumm, we all love paalak paneer. It is so enriching, trying out foods and recipes other than our typical ones. Nice post Shalini 🙂

    Like

  6. I love to try new recipes and reading made my mouth water…am happy that Argentina won, being German I hope we’ll win on Sunday 🙂

    Like

  7. I wish I had the football bug then I wouldn’t mind the obsession with football in our house so much at the moment LOL This recipe looks good but I’d never get my kids to even try it.

    Like

  8. As a child i ate palak only in palak paneer, otherwise I hated it. And yes Argentina is lucky this season, they score in extra times & penalties!!!

    Like

  9. Will give it a go…am always game for a new recipe! 🙂

    Like

  10. Not a big fan of Palak Paneer 🙂 paneer yes but not palak 😉 So skipping the attempt to make it. I am glad it got a smile to share though. 🙂

    PS: Argentina won! Yay! 🙂 but I don’t feel it was spectacular.The shootout was. Match was so-so 😦 Hoping for a fantastic final.

    Like

Loved what you read? Pour in your thoughts, please. :)